• From Presidium - 28 July 2014 09:50 AM

    Presidium Members

    Presidium Bureau Presidents of the A.A.F.S. branches Presidents of the scientific sections

  • From Presidium - 28 July 2014 09:43 AM

    Presidium Bureau

    Prof.dr.Gheorghe SIN - President Prof.dr. Mihai NICOLESCU - Vice-president Prof.dr. Valeriu TABARA - Vice-president

  • From Academy - 28 July 2014 09:22 AM

    Academy objectives

    Increasing of the scientific research contribution to the complex, harmonious and sustainable development of agriculture, forestry and Romanian rural area, in order to fulfill the major national objective of achieving food security and safety

  • From Academy - 28 July 2014 09:20 AM

    Academy Today

    The Academy of Agricultural and Forestry Sciences "Gheorghe Ionescu-Şişeşti" (A.A.F.S.) is a public specialized institution, autonomous, of scientific coordination and academic acknowledgement, with legal personality, operating according to its own statute under the coordination of the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development and collaborates with the Ministry of National Education (MNE).

  • From Academy - 28 July 2014 09:18 AM

    Short History

    Over the time course, under the influence of social-economic reorganizations and the development of education, the organization of agronomic scientific research and academic life passed by various stages of the institutional structuring process. The first agricultural scientific institution was founded in 1886 as the Central Agronomic Station, in 1927 becoming part of the Agronomic Research Institute of Romania. The second half of the XIXth century and the beginning of the new century was the period which recorded the names of great forerunners in the process of agricultural education and research activity, like Ion Ionescu de la Brad, the author of the first handbook of agriculture and animal husbandry (1871), Petre S. Aurelian, Constantin Sandu-Aldea, Vlad Cârnu-Munteanu, G. Munteanu-Murgoci, Nicolae Filip, George Maior, C. Vasilescu, Carol Davila, Ion Athanasiu, Paul Riegler, Ioan Poienaru, Ioan Ştefan Furtună, V. Lucaci and others.